DVD: Start 2013 off with a ‘BANG’! Cosmopolis available for pre-order

Happy New Year! Well, not really but you can start the new year off right with your very own copy of Cosmopolis.

COSMOPOLIS DVD and Blu-Ray goes on sale January 1st 2013! (Amazon is currently accepting pre-orders for Blu-Ray only).

With Cosmopolis’ limited release in North America, we know a lot of you haven’t yet seen the film. The chauffeurs are so excited for everyone to finally get their chance in the limo.🙂

UPDATE: Reader Jen let us know that the DVD and Blu-ray are both available for pre-order through Barnes and Noble. Thanks Jen.

via ThoseBritishBoys

This entry was posted in Cosmopolis, DVD/Bluray and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DVD: Start 2013 off with a ‘BANG’! Cosmopolis available for pre-order

  1. Notebookgirl72 says:

    YES!! Six months is a long damn wait….but I’ve made it this long. There are so many people who I am DYING to have watch it already.

  2. Sheri Zee says:

    Pre-ordered mine! Yay!

  3. Jen Robinson says:

    Barnes & Noble has both the DVD and Blu Ray available for pre-order (but they don’t have the cover image up just yet).😀

  4. Lou says:

    Its about time! Especially since so many of us were denied seeing it at a theater!

  5. Cosmonerd says:

    Dear Cosmopolis fans,
    The DVD just came out in Germany and at last I’ve just seen it in the original English (having previously seen it in the tortured, castrated German version with lousy voices and translation) and I am so happy to report that the OV is as wonderful as I had hoped it would be. If the novel was an epic poem, then the film is a lyric poem, a concentrated version enhanced with and through visual images. I loved all the actors, and none disappointed me, especially since I could mentally finish every sentence that came out of their mouths before they got to the end of it, which made me very persnickety. And that monologue near the end where Eric talks to the gun–how the whole two pages get microscoped into two words–brilliant!
    My other overwhelming impression was that the film is a painting. Both an abstract impressionist one and a comic. This all clicked for me when the pie thrower called himself an abstract painter of pies. Suddenly it dawned on me (duh!) that the white limo is an empty canvas which is filling up with glops of paint, bodily fluids, and symbols as the movie proceeds, the final version of which we only see when Eric gets out of the car and it drives into the garage. At the same time the movie is a comic–all those close-ups of people and interiors from different angles and in different shadings, all those stylized views of the street seen through comic-box sized windows, all those ritualized action scenes also confined by window frames. The comic form reflects the grid of the city streets and the stop and go progress of the journey. The painterly titles and credits took on a new meaning for me as the perfect frame for the painting. I think this was easier to see on my smallish flat screen than it was on the big screen in the movie theater–you can take in more details at once.
    There are also some nice interviews and B-rolls on the German version.
    This was my first viewing of the DVD and there will be many more. I’m planning to take a closer look at all the signs that can be read through the windows–I suspect they will turn out to be footnotes that also sum up some of the left out thoughts and themes of the book. I’m also going to think more about the meanings of FOOD in the movie and in the book.
    Thanks for bearing with me. I didn’t know where else to gush this out. Would love to get some feedback if anybody reads this.

    • deb24601 says:

      Wow! Great observations! I hadn’t noticed the comic book connection, I will be looking for that on my next viewing. The limo itself as Eric’s canvas is also a really interesting idea. You’ve given us a lot of great new concepts to ponder, excite!! I’m so glad you came here to gush. I can’t wait to see the extras when the DVD finally comes out here.

      • Cosmonerd says:

        Glad you liked. Must correct myself in persnickety fashion. I meant “abstract EXpressionist, of course, and the pie man described himself as an ACTION painter. Gist of first impressions is correct, though. Can’t wait to see it again (and don’t have to, now that I own it!) I remembered your observation about Shiner as a sort of younger version of Benno on the edge of a nervous breakdown, and when you realize the former could not have witnessed the latter’s performance, it’s quite remarkable.
        One more thing: of course Eric’s body gets dirtied and dented and bloodied just as the limo did. It’s as if the car has become not only his submarine and his tomb and his armor but even his skin, which he sheds, like his clothes, before continuing to abuse his exposed body. In one of the interviews Rob, when asked to describe Eric, says he’s a guy with so much egotism that he has become abstract, basically leaving his body behind. Lot’s of stuff to ponder, endlessly…thanks for answering and bye now.

Leave a Reply

