David Cronenberg talks about Cosmopolis for the UK BluRay/DVD release: “Cosmopolis is an art film.”

Digital Spy got a chance to speak to David Cronenberg about Cosmopolis and his other films for the release of Cosmopolis on DVD in the UK. Click HERE if you need to purchase and check out the excerpt below:

In the making of featurette on the Cosmopolis DVD, producer Paulo Branco describes Don DeLillo’s novel as a mix between Crash and eXistenZ, with its themes of destruction leading to sensation and detatchment from the real world. When you first read the book, did you think it was perfect material for you?
“Well I wasn’t thinking of my own old movies… I don’t really think in those terms. I don’t have a checklist of things that something must have and must relate to my other films. Honestly, each project is as though it’s the first movie I have ever made.

“Now for Paulo as a producer coming to me, he might have his reasoning that’s based on my other movies and that’s fine. It didn’t seem like things that I’d done before, but after having made the movie I can see why people might want to compare it to my movie Crash, for example. At the same time JG Ballard and DeLillo are very different kind of writers, so I don’t think many people can connect them, but when they see the movies, it’s kind of interesting.

“With Cosmopolis, I was a big fan of Don DeLillo’s work. I loved his dialog, which is unique, and Harold Pinter-esque in the sense that you can recognize it when you hear it. It’s realistic but also very stylized.”

It’s very rhythmical too…
“It is very rhythmical and kind of hypnotic, yet it is American speech. But those things are not like my own work, so I respond very directly to the material, rather than be extremely analytical about it. I just think if this is a movie for me, and would I be having great fun and be finding exciting, interesting things while making this movie or not.”

There’s an excellent line from Samantha Morton’s character in the movie: “The more visionary the idea, the more people it leaves behind.” Did that resonate with you in terms of the reception to your own work?
“Well, yes, I think it’s one of the consolations when your movie is not widely popular – you say maybe it’s ahead of its time. I have had that happen with a couple of movies includingVideodrome, where the reception at the box office wasn’t great but the afterlife has been quite great.

Cosmopolis is an art film, not a mainstream movie, so you know that you are gambling in that sense and you hope that it has what they call legs. When I was a kid, if you didn’t see the movie that weekend, you never saw it again. The advent of VHS tapes and later DVDs is fantastic. The movies really do have an afterlife, and it encourages filmmakers to make art rather than just a consumable item.”

Click HERE to read the interview in its entirety

FYI: David Cronenberg, Robert Pattinson and Cosmopolis producer, Martin Katz, are teaming up again in the new year to make another film, Maps To The Stars! We’ve started the twitter and will launch the fansite soon. Follow us if you want more information @MapsToTheStars and keep a look out.🙂

This entry was posted in Articles, Cosmopolis, David Cronenberg, DVD/Bluray, Robert Pattinson, Samantha Morton and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to David Cronenberg talks about Cosmopolis for the UK BluRay/DVD release: “Cosmopolis is an art film.”

  1. Mary says:

    Got the DVD today and watching the 1hr 46min documentary on ‘extras’. It’s an excellent BTS compendium. There’s a lot to savour.

  2. verenajj says:

    Same here! Cannot wait to watch all the extras and the Blue Ray quality! cronenberg is right: Cosmopolis is a piece of art!

Leave a Reply

